Home > Metaphysics and Theology, Personal Development > Finding the Inner Voice

Finding the Inner Voice

I was talking to an associate once about meditation.  I was explaining to him about controlling the inner voice.

“You mean voices.” he said, ”I have a lot of voices talking in my head sometimes.’”

So, what we came up with during that sitting was how to find ones control voice among ones inner voices.  Getting a handle on your control voice will help you get a handle on controlling your thoughts, and, thereby, have better control over your life.

Here’s how you find your control voice:

1. Look at the palm of your hand.

2. Wiggle your fingers.

3. Say to yourself, with words inside your head, ‘This is the palm of my hand, and I have just wiggled my fingers.’

4. Mentally note where this voice is, and how to refer back to it.

Here’s another way to look at this feature of the mind.  It is focus, a trait and ability of the Human mind.  Aside from short confirmations, such as, ‘I’m going to enjoy this.’, focus does not need to talk in order to function efficiently.  In fact, it is probably better if it keeps its mouth shut most of the time.  All you want is the place from where the voice comes.

Learn to control it.  Get quiet, and relaxed.  Have that voice count your breaths.  Don’t allow any of the other stray voices, nor stray thoughts passing through your mind to interfere.  Practice this till you can do it for several minutes.

Following this phase, get quiet, and relaxed, then set your focus in a lawn chair out in the yard of your mind.  Let stray thoughts, and voices wrestle, and tumble, and fool around further out in the yard of your mind.  Observe them, but don’t acknowledge them, nor interact with them in any way.  Most of those stray thoughts, and voices will just leave.  This is a more Buddhist form of meditation.

Another thing to do is to allow your focus to rest entirely.  Set up a guard in your mind that intercepts those stray thoughts, and voices.  This guard informs those stray thoughts, and voices that you are busy at the moment, and asks them to come back later.  I actually use the vision of a theater usher in an ushers monkey suit and a flashlight that approaches stray thoughts, and voices, saying, ‘Shhh!  If you don’t be quiet, I’m going to have to ask you to leave.’  This is a more Christian form of meditation.

When you are skilled at controlling your focus, you can practice ‘contemplation.’  Contemplation, like meditation, is a form of mindfulness.  To practice contemplation, one picks a subject, or a phrase, or a system, or an object, and explores it with their mind, excluding  thoughts on anything else.  This practice is often referred to as Platonic Exploration, due to certain philosophical views Plato professed.  A contemplative session is also referred to as an ‘Edisons Nap,’ as Thomas Edison was adept at overcome engineering problems using this technique.

Till next time, remember, you have one of the rarest, and one of the most phenomenal material matrices located up there in your brain housing group.  Learn to get the best out of it.  You are spectacular.

  1. 2011/02/10 at 11:41

    Sometimes I use a mantra like, “I don’t want to hear it.” or “Stop Now.”

    I’m also fond of the four line “Jesus Prayer.” I often use the prayer during long medical tests when they ask you to remain still, like MRIs and such.

    • Gerald Henthorn
      2011/02/10 at 20:10

      Oh! And don’t forget the ever popular mantra, ‘This just can’t be happening!’

      The Jesus Prayer could be used as a mantra, I suppose. In practice, it takes on the profile of a mantra. However, as the name implies, it is a prayer, and is used primarily for intercession. I’m what you call an intercessor, so I use the Jesus Prayer quite a bit … not always every day, but several times a week. The prayer is patterned after the Plea of the Publican in The Parable of the Pharisee and the Publican in Luke 18:9-14, saying, ‘God, be merciful to me, a sinner!’ Therefore, it is also known as the Plea of the Publican, or the Prayer of the Publican. It is also known as the Hysakist prayer (I’m not sure of the spelling, and I can’t find a reference to it anywhere). The Hysakist were an old ‘rank’ in the Greek Orthodox monastic order, generally young, and/or illiterate. This was a quick, and easy prayer they could be taught, and with which to set off in a corner somewhere to fulfill their obligations.

      Of course, the Jesus Prayer Jesus Prayer goes like this, ‘Lord, Jesus Christ, Son of God, have Mercy on me, a sinner.’ or, ‘ … Bless me, a sinner.’ When interceding on behalf of others, we say, ‘Lord, Jesus Christ, Son of God, Bless Insert Name.’ I should point out here that we never, ever, ever, ever refer to another person, place, nor thing as being a sinner … big no no … judgmental, and all that.

      We say this prayer over, and over, and over, generally in segments of ten, which is why prayer beads are very useful. However, counting on fingers and toes works just as well. According to tradition, we are responsible for the quantity of recitations, not the quality of recitations … a way of encouraging those praying not to wait till they get in the zone before they start. If you are adept at visualization during prayer, visualize the desired end result being acted out by the person for whom you are praying. Oddly, when this prayer is used for ‘The Dark Side’ of the spectrum, it tends to backfire.

      Many serendipitous events, otherwise considered miracles, are attributed to reciting the Jesus Prayer. I have my own, insignificant as it is. In late 1992 I’d gotten my sleeping patterns so cockeyed that I was miserable. No matter what I tried, I couldn’t get them normalized. I always seemed to be unable to get to sleep, and when I did, I wasn’t able to wake up without a lot of external influence. This went on for weeks, and weeks, and weeks, and I was a zombie. This old monk gave me a prayer ring, which is basically an aluminum ring with nubs. He said, “Go pray the Jesus Prayer. See what happens.” So, I went to bed, put my finger on the first nub, and said “Lord, Jesu … zzzzzz!” Put me out quick and cold. However, one point of the prayer is to stay awake so one can keep praying it.

      Thanks for you input, Dick! Have a great day!

  2. 2011/03/02 at 23:02

    Howdy reading this page was indeed very very interesting, Reflections in this way highlights whoever reflect this topic:)

    • Gerald Henthorn
      2011/03/03 at 19:36

      Thank you freepokermoneynodepositbonus!

  1. 2011/02/09 at 19:21

Please Leave a Reply

