Home > Personal Development > Think Upon a Star

Think Upon a Star

” Twinkle twinkle little star,
” How I wonder what you are,
” Up above the world so high,
“Like a diamond in the sky.”

“Starlight,
” Star bright,
” First star I see tonight,
” I wish I may,
” I wish I might,
” Have the wish,
” I wish tonight.”

I know I combined two ancient starly folk poems. However, they work very well together … and they’re folk poems, very old, and of open source literature.

At this moment, I’m sitting outside in my sitting spot, pondering the stars in the night sky. These points of light in the sky have very little impact on my survival, and they all look pretty much the same for my vantage point. Yet, I can sit and study them for hours on end.

Making friends with the stars in the night sky makes me relaxed; I often even get drowsy. I wonder about what color they are up close, what they sound like, what they smell like, what they’d call themselves if they could give themselves a name. Sometimes I’ll astrally project myself up among them, and bounce around between them like a pin ball ball, or catch a moon near one of them, and kick up a bunch of dust.

My Protestant work ethic tells me this is a waste of time. Meanwhile, my Eastern Philosophy base, as well as my personal experience, tell me this is a worthwhile activity. Most of my revelations, epiphany, and realizations of Truth have come to me after contemplating the stars for a while.

I would say that these things come to me through resting the consciousness in an escapist activity … but I don’t get the same results from watching television. If we consider the dual nature of matter, known as The Observer Effect, I … you too … give the stars substance by observing them. Subsequent revelations, epiphanies, and realizations of truth just may be compensation from the Cosmos for your services … which the last four lines in the second poem above request.

You make the stars real. If that doesn’t make you spectacular, I don’t know what would.

Posted from WordPress for Android, and you know you’re spectacular.

  1. 2012/07/22 at 10:30

    I didn’t know you posted this link to facebook until I went there to paste a quote from it on your wall. Good job! ❤

    • 2012/08/14 at 15:23

      I think I turned off my reply alerts somehow. I just caught this. Thank you, Char! You are going to spoil me rotten.

  2. 2012/07/22 at 15:25

    A little cricket said to me – When You Wish Upon A Star

    • 2012/08/14 at 15:36

      Thanks Dick! Sorry my response is late. I had my comment notifications turned off somehow.

      • 2012/08/14 at 16:28

        I’m glad you noticed. Keeping all of this fun stuff working is a full-time job. I enjoy following what active people are doing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Please Leave a Reply